Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Farmer Janes


Being a farmer's wife used to be the pinnacle role for women in agriculture, but that's changing fast. As more women reclaim land and run farms, Cristen and Caroline highlight how they're becoming seen as the rising gatekeepers of sustainable food production.

Episode sources:

"About Half The World's Farmers Are Women, But Many Don't Have Land, Modern Tools. Here's Who's Helping." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/03/11/women-farmers-land-rights_n_6833224.html

"Agriculture Needs More Women." http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2013/09/agriculture-needs-more-women/279987/

"Breaking the 'grass ceiling': More women are farming." http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/03/17/women-farmers-increasing/1993009/

"Female Farmers Are Few, But Deeply Rooted." http://zesterdaily.com/agriculture/among-farmers-women-deeply-rooted-culture/

"Feminist: A Q&A with 'The Color of Food,' Author Natasha Bowens." http://annamaryas.com/2015/01/21/farming/

"Fertile Ground: Farming for Feminism." http://bitchmagazine.org/post/fertile-ground-women-feminism-food-farming-femivore-eco

"Interview: Natasha Bowens of Brown Girl Farming." http://www.foodpolitic.com/interview-natasha-bowens-of-brown-girl-farming/

"Old McDonald Might Be a Lady: More Women Take Up Farming." http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2013/06/12/190982358/old-mcdonald-might-be-a-lady-more-women-take-up-farming

"Picturing Women Farmers." http://modernfarmer.com/2014/05/picturing-women-farmers/

"Queer as farm folk: Can the LGBT community save sustainable farming?" http://grist.org/food/2011-10-17-out-queer-in-the-field/

"Raise the Flag High: Queer Farming in Rural America. http://modernfarmer.com/2015/01/raise-flag-high-queer-farming-rural-america/

"Say Hello the Queer Farmers of America." http://bitchmagazine.org/post/say-hello-to-the-queer-farmers-of-america

"U.S. Sees More Female Farmers Cropping Up." http://www.npr.org/2011/03/30/134979252/u-s-sees-more-female-farmers-cropping-up

"Where Have All the Womyn Farmers Gone?" http://modernfarmer.com/2015/01/women-farming/

"Women Are Feeding the World." http://modernfarmer.com/2014/02/women-feeding-world/

"Women farmers pillar of food security." http://www.un.org/apps/news/story.asp?NewsID=50261#.VSaG-pPOD_i

Academic insights:

"The agrarian transition and the 'feminization' of agriculture." Olivier de Schutter. Program in Agrarian Studies. Yale University. 2013. http://www.yale.edu/agrarianstudies/foodsovereignty/pprs/37_deSchutter_2013.pdf

Topics in this Podcast: Vegetarians, Food, vegetables, labor, farming


More to Explore