Finding Lisa Frank


Lisa Frank is a real person, and she has a stable of sad unicorns and wilted rainbows hidden away in her closet. Cristen and Caroline explore Lisa Frank's rise to girlhood fame and descent into corporate chaos.

Episode sources:

"17 Bright and Colorful Facts About Lisa Frank." Mental Floss. http://mentalfloss.com/article/66688/17-bright-and-colorful-facts-about-lisa-frank

"Feminist Lisa Frank Catches Flak from Lisa Frank's People, Fires Back with Pastel Kittens." The Mary Sue. http://www.themarysue.com/feminist-lisa-frank-flak/

"Inside the Rainbow Gulag: The Technicolor Rise and Fall of Lisa Frank." http://jezebel.com/inside-the-rainbow-gulag-the-technicolor-rise-and-fall-1179495705

"Lisa Frank Is Real." The Atlantic. http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2013/09/lisa-frank-is-real/465663/

"Lisa Frank On Lisa Frank." Foundations. http://www.foundationsmag.us/features/2015/8/27/lisa-frank-on-lisa-frank

"The no so 'fantastic world' of Lisa Frank." Tucson Citizen. http://tucsoncitizen.com/morgue2/2005/09/29/35190-the-not-so-fantastic-world-of-lisa-frank/

"The UO Nice List: Lisa Frank." Urban Outfitters. http://blog.urbanoutfitters.com/blog/the_uo_nice_list_lisa_frank

"This Lisa Frank Tarot Deck Will Bring Out Your Inner Fifth-Grade Mystic." The Huffington Post. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/lisa-frank-tarot-deck_us_56e863d0e4b0860f99dab0b3

"Tucson company tries limelight." Arizona Daily Star. https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/803600-azstar25th.html

"Tuscon factory silent: Colorful world of Lisa Frank fades." Arizona Daily Star. http://tucson.com/business/local/tucson-factory-silent-colorful-world-of-lisa-frank-fades/article_9cd1ca94-98e9-50be-89bb-30d3189d55e2.html

Topics in this Podcast: unicorns