Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Gymnastics Gold


Aly Raisman, super human.
Aly Raisman, super human.

American Simone Biles is possibly the most talented gymnast in history. Cristen and Caroline somersault across the history of the OIympic event from its iconic hair and leotards to gendered and ethnic coding as well as the women like Simone Biles who have vaulted to worldwide attention.

Episode sources:

"8 Photos That Prove Gymnastics Leotards Are Basically the Best Reason to Watch the Olympics." Reader's Digest. http://www.rd.com/culture/evolution-gymnastics-leotard/

"A Brief History of Sexism in TV Coverage of the Olympics." The Atlantic. http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2014/02/a-brief-history-of-sexism-in-tv-coverage-of-the-olympics/284003/

"Being a Confident Badass Does Not Make a Female Athlete a 'Diva'. Jezebel. http://jezebel.com/5932498/being-a-confident-badass-does-not-make-a-female-athlete-a-diva

"From Scrunchies to Colored Eyeshadow: Olympic Hopeful Alicia Sacramone Dishes on the Mysterious World of Gymnastics Beauty." http://fashionista.com/2012/05/from-scrunchies-to-colored-eyeshadow-olympic-hopeful-alicia-sacramone-dishes-on-the-mysterious-world-of-gymnastics-beauty

"Gabby Douglas: Team USA's Flip Artist." TIME. http://olympics.time.com/2012/07/19/gabby-douglas-olympic-gymnastics/

"Gymnastics Hair: A Retrospective." The Gymternet. https://thegymter.net/2016/04/06/gymnastics-hair-a-retrospective/

"Irked by Broadcast Coverage, Gymnastics Sites Aim to Raise the Bar." NPR. http://www.npr.org/2016/07/03/484602922/irked-by-broadcast-coverage-gymnastics-sites-vault-into-the-conversation

"Our First Team USA: Women's Gymnastics at Berlin 1936." The Gymternet. https://thegymter.net/2016/01/07/our-first-team-usa-womens-gymnastics-at-berlin-1936/

"The decades of black gymnastics who paved the way for Simone Biles." Fusion. http://fusion.net/story/323793/dianne-durham-dominique-dawes-simone-biles-black-gymnasts/

"The Mind-Blowing Athleticism of Simone Biles." The New Yorker. http://www.newyorker.com/news/sporting-scene/the-mind-blowing-athleticism-of-simone-biles

"The Tumbler Tumblr." New Republic. https://newrepublic.com/article/133882/tumbler-tumblr

"Thumbs Up, Thumbs Down: A Feminist Look at the Olympics (So Far)." Ms. http://msmagazine.com/blog/2012/08/02/thumbs-up-thumbs-down-a-feminist-look-at-the-olympics-so-far/

Topics in this Podcast: olympics, athletes


More to Explore