Knitting


Larry Washburn/Getty Images
Larry Washburn/Getty Images

Knitting was originally a job for the menfolk. Cristen and Caroline stitch together the mysterious history of the craft, how it transitioned to women's domestic work and how third-wave feminists reclaimed it.

Episode Sources:

"The History of Knitting Pt 1: Mysterious Origins" http://sheepandstitch.com/the-history-of-knitting-part-1-mysterious-origins/

"The History of Knitting Pt 2: Madonnas, Stockings and Guilds, Oh My!" http://sheepandstitch.com/the-history-of-knitting-pt-2-madonnas-stockings-and-guilds-oh-my/

"Medieval Knitting" http://www.sca.org/ti/articles/2008/issue165/MedievalKnitting.pdf

"Knit Is a Feminist Issue" http://theknittinggenie.com/2013/11/16/knit-is-a-feminist-issue/

"Men's Knitting: Is It the 'New Yoga'?" http://www.telegraph.co.uk/men/thinking-man/10552983/Mens-knitting-is-it-the-new-yoga.html

"Bros and Rows: The Real History of Men Who Knit" http://www.huffingtonpost.com/carolyn-bucior/men-who-knit_b_3860427.html

"Crafty Men Unwind with Knitting" http://www.wsj.com/articles/crafty-men-unwind-with-knitting-1409024434

"'Vaginal Knitting' Is the New Thing in Activist Performance Art" http://gawker.com/vaginal-knitting-is-the-new-thing-in-activist-perform-1472674648

"When Street Art, Activism and Knitting Collide" https://digitalatheart.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/when-street-art-activism-and-knitting-collide/

Academic Insights:

"Gender, Work and Wages in Industrial Revolution Britain." Joyce Burnette. Cambridge University Press. 2008. https://books.google.com/books?id=gJEWvlqlEoIC&printsec=frontcover&source=gbs_ge_summary_r&cad=0#v=onepage&q&f=false

"Fabric of Gender: Working-class Culture in Third Republic France." Helen Chenut. Penn State Press. 2010. https://books.google.com/books?id=URkuI6NEgwsC&dq=men+women+gender+knitting&source=gbs_navlinks_s

"Gender and Class in Modern Europe." Laura Levine Frader and Sonya O. Rose. Cornell University Press. 1996. https://books.google.com/books?id=I2YOBn9WY8wC&dq=men+women+gender+knitting&source=gbs_navlinks_s

"Feminism, Activism and Knitting: Are the Fibre Arts a Viable Mode for Feminist Political Action?" Beth Anne Pentney. Third Space: A Journal of Feminist Theory and Culture. 2008. Vol. 8, Iss. 1. http://journals.sfu.ca/thirdspace/index.php/journal/article/viewArticle/pentney/210

"'Join the Knitting Revolution': Third-wave Feminist Magazines and the Politics of Domesticity." Elizabeth Groeneveld. Canadian Review of American Studies. 2010. Vol. 40, No. 2. http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/crv/summary/v040/40.2.groeneveld.html

"Activist Tendencies in Craft." Ele Carpenter. Goldsmiths. 2010. http://research.gold.ac.uk/3109/1/Activist_Tendencies_in_Craft_EC.pdf

Topics in this Podcast: history, women's work, Activism