Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Slut Shaming 101


A London woman marches in a 2012 Slutwalk to protest rape culture. © Mike Kemp/ /In Pictures/Corbis
A London woman marches in a 2012 Slutwalk to protest rape culture. © Mike Kemp/ /In Pictures/Corbis

Slut shaming is one of society's favorite forms of policing female sexuality. Cristen and Caroline explore the history, science and psychology of slut shaming, and why it's often a girl-on-girl pattern.

Episode sources:

"A Modest Proposal." http://tmagazine.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/03/19/a-modest-proposal/?smid=tw-share

"An Open Letter from Black Women to SlutWalk Organizers." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/susan-brison/slutwalk-black-women_b_980215.html

"Are You a Slut? That Depends. Are You Rich?" http://www.slate.com/blogs/xx_factor/2014/05/28/slut_shaming_and_class_a_study_on_how_college_women_decide_who_s_trashy.html

"He's a Stud, She's a Slut: The Sexual Double Standard." http://www.alternet.org/story/86736/he%27s_a_stud%2C_she%27s_a_slut%3A_the_sexual_double_standard

"FAQ: What is 'slut-shaming'?" https://finallyfeminism101.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/what-is-slut-shaming/

"Promiscuity Is Pragmatic." http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/science/2013/12/female_promiscuity_in_primates_when_do_women_have_multiple_partners.html

"Schools Are Still Slut-Shaming Girls While Enforcing Dress Code." http://time.com/3394549/dress-code-long-island-new-york/

"Shame on Everyone." http://www.slate.com/articles/life/the_good_word/2013/10/stop_calling_all_criticism_shaming.html

"Should 'slut' be retired?" http://op-talk.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/02/03/should-slut-be-retired/

"'Slut' Clothes: A Brief History." http://fashionista.com/2013/04/slut-clothes-history

Slut! Growing up with a Bad Reputation. https://books.google.com/books?id=63ZR50AvBywC&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

"'Slut Shaming Has Been Tossed Around So Much, It's Lost All Meaning." http://jezebel.com/slut-shaming-has-been-tossed-around-so-much-its-los-1478093672

"Study: Women Slut-Shame Each Other On Twitter as Much as Men Do." http://time.com/107228/women-misogyny-twitter-study-demos/

"The Issue with T Magazine's 'Slut Clothes'." http://fashionista.com/2013/04/the-issue-with-t-magazines-slut-clothes

"The One Four-Letter Word You Won't Find in Obvious Child." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/leora-tanenbaum/the-one-fourletter-word-y_b_5438926.html

"The Truth About Sluts." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/02/05/i-am-not-a-slut-leora-tanenbaum_n_6623114.html

"What Does 'Slut' Mean Anyway?" http://www.huffingtonpost.com/leora-tanenbaum/what-does-slut-mean-anyway_b_6594124.html

"Why Can't Black Women Claim Sluttiness, Again?" http://www.racialicious.com/2013/06/14/why-cant-black-women-claim-sluttiness-again/

"'You're such a slut!' Sexual validation in the age of social media." http://www.salon.com/2015/02/09/%E2%80%9Cyou%E2%80%99re_such_a_slut%E2%80%9D_sexual_validation_in_the_age_of_social_media/

Academic insights:

"Birds of a Feather? Not When It Comes to Sexual Permissiveness." Vrangalova, Zhana. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships. 2013. https://www.academia.edu/3256850/Birds_of_a_Feather_Not_When_it_Comes_to_Sexual_Permissiveness_in_press_

"Empathy, Polyandry, and the Myth of the Coy Female." Hrdy, Sarah Blaffer. Feminist Approaches to Science. 1986. http://thehangedman.com/teaching-files/svd-phd/2-gender/hrdy.pdf

"Male and Female Sluts: Shifts and Stabilities in the Regulation of Sexual Relations among Young Heterosexual Men." Flood, Michael. Australian Feminist Studies. 2013. http://ro.uow.edu.au/lhapapers/401/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cnHDt-h9is

Topics in this Podcast: sex, slut shaming, modesty, sexual assault awareness month


More to Explore