Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Street Art Sisterhood


Street artist Kashink. Getty Images
Street artist Kashink. Getty Images

The history of graffitti and street art have been tagged with men's names, but not anymore. Women around the world are turning public spaces into their canvases, challenging gender norms and the art world at large. Just don't call them "female Banksys."

Episode sources:

"5 Latin American Street Artists You Should Know." http://remezcla.com/lists/5-latin-american-street-artists-you-should-know/

"10 Women Street Artists Who Are Better Than Banksy." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/09/04/female-street-artists_n_5759430.html

"Afghan graffiti artist Shamsia Hassani shortlisted for Artraker Award - but she still has to dodge landmines to create her work." http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/afghan-graffiti-artist-shamsia-hassani-shortlisted-for-artraker-award-but-she-still-has-to-dodge-9732248.html

"Bambi: Graffiti Artist on Why She's More Than Just a 'Female Banksy'." http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2015/oct/18/bambi-graffiti-artist-female-banksy-street-art-feminism

"Bastardilla is the street artists making Colombia confront gender inequality." http://www.theplaidzebra.com/bastardilla-is-the-female-street-artist-making-colombia-confront-gender-inequality/

"Can Graffiti Remake Egypt?" http://www.thedailybeast.com/witw/articles/2014/02/19/can-graffiti-remake-egypt.html

"Female Street Artists Take to Dubai's Walls." http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/may/06/female-street-artists-dubai-walls-graffiti

"Female Writers." http://www.at149st.com/women.html

"Graffiti and the Girl: The Sisterhood of Street Art." http://the-toast.net/2014/06/30/graffiti-girl-sisterhood-street-art/

"In Search of a Female Banksy." http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/art/features/in-search-of-a-female-banksy-aiko-and-faith47-take-on-a-male-dominated-street-art-world-8882082.html

"Meet Dieynaba, Senegal's First Female Street Artist." http://www.one.org/international/blog/meet-dieynaba-senegals-first-female-graffiti-artist/

"Meet the Women Redefining Street Art." http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2015/jan/07/street-art-women-elle-swoon-vexta

"Why Aren't 'Women Street Artists' Just 'Street Artists'?" http://hyperallergic.com/188992/why-arent-women-street-artists-just-street-artists/

"Why Banksy Is (Probably) a Woman." http://www.citylab.com/design/2014/11/why-banksy-is-probably-a-woman/382202/

"Why the Female Graffiti Movement Is More Than Just Art." http://www.elle.com/culture/art-design/a12728/female-graffiti-movement/

Topics in this Podcast: street harassment


More to Explore