Divorced Women


RJ Capak/WireImage/Getty Images

Society has always been a little suspicious of the divorced woman: Is she a gold-digging threat or a pitiful, jilted wife? Most likely, she's neither. Cristen and Caroline wade through the stereotypes to uncover the reality of life as a divorcee.

Episode Sources:

"The Marrying -- and Divorcing -- Kind" http://www.pewresearch.org/daily-number/the-marrying-and-divorcing-kind/

"At Long Last, Divorce" http://www.pewresearch.org/2010/06/04/at-long-last-divorce/

"Four-in-Ten Couples are Saying 'I Do,' Again" http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2014/11/14/four-in-ten-couples-are-saying-i-do-again/

"Men Want to Remarry; Women are 'Meh'" http://time.com/3584827/pew-marriage-divorce-remarriage/

"Angry divorcee refused this $974M check" http://nypost.com/2015/01/07/a-974-million-settlement-wasnt-enough-for-this-divorcee/

"Jane Hawking: Brief history of a first wife" http://www.theguardian.com/theobserver/2004/apr/04/features.review17

"The wife U.S. Republican John McCain callously left behind" http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1024927/The-wife-John-McCain-callously-left-behind.html

"'I Was a Starter Wife': Inside America's Messiest Divorce" http://www.marieclaire.com/sex-love/advice/a5380/millionaire-starter-wife/

"The myths around divorce and gold-digging wives obscure the reality" http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jul/08/myths-divorce-gold-digging-wives-media-stereotype

"The Real Cause of Divorce -- America Has to Stop Blaming It on Women" http://www.alternet.org/visions/real-causes-divorce-america-has-stop-blaming-it-women

"Are middle-aged women done with men?" http://omgchronicles.vickilarson.com/2012/03/12/are-middle-aged-women-done-with-men/

"Marry Again? Nine Reasons Divorced Women Choose Not To" http://www.more.com/relationships/marry-again-nine-reasons-divorced-women-choose-not

"Life After Divorce" http://www.aarp.org/home-family/friends-family/info-05-2012/life-after-divorce.print.html

Academic Insights:

"The Retirement Prospects of Divorced Women." Barbara A. Butrica and Karen E. Smith. Social Security Bulletin. 2012. http://ssa.gov/policy/docs/ssb/v72n1/v72n1p11.html

"'These Boots Are Made for Walking': Why Most Divorce Filers Are Women." Margaret F. Brinig and Douglas W. Allen. American Law and Economics Review. 2000. http://www.unc.edu/courses/2010fall/econ/586/001/Readings/Brinig.pdf

Topics in this Podcast: marriage, divorce, stereotypes, relationships