Empresses of Science Fiction


CSA Images/Mod Art Collection/Getty Images

Did you know a woman wrote what many consider the first science-fiction novel? Cristen and Caroline explore women who've shaped science fiction's past and present and how the genre plays with gender.

Episode Sources

"Women Rise in Sci Fi (Again)" http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2014/11/women-rise-in-science-fiction-again/382298/

"Feeding the Hunger - female writers are storming the male citadels of sci-fi" http://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/apr/12/feeding-the-hunger-female-writers-are-storming-the-male-citadels-of-sci-fi

"Why Aren't There More Woman Sci-Fi Writers?" http://www.slate.com/blogs/xx_factor/2013/04/25/strange_horizons_report_on_woman_authors_is_science_fiction_and_fantasy.html

"Science Fiction's White Boys Club Strikes Back" http://www.newrepublic.com/article/121554/2015-hugo-awards-and-history-science-fiction-culture-wars

"Female Sci-Fi Writers Nearly Sweep the 2015 Nebula Awards" http://www.themarysue.com/women-2015-nebula-awards/

"Lady Margaret Cavendish" http://www.epigenesys.eu/en/science-and-you/women-in-science/651-lady-margaret-cavendish

"The free love and radical genius of Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley" http://flavorwire.com/516345/the-free-love-and-radical-genius-of-mary-wollstonecraft-and-mary-shelley

"How a Teenager Invented Science Fiction: The Story of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein" http://qwiklit.com/2014/07/28/how-a-teenager-invented-science-fiction-the-story-of-mary-shelleys-frankenstein/

"Octavia E. Butler" http://octaviabutler.org/bio/

"Ursula K. LeGuin" http://www.ursulakleguin.com/BiographicalSketch.html

"The 23 Best Science Fiction Books by Female Authors" http://best-sci-fi-books.com/23-best-science-fiction-books-female-authors/

"The Greatest Female Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors of All Time" http://flavorwire.com/302318/the-greatest-female-sci-fifantasy-authors-of-all-time

"5 Intriguing Takes on Gender in Science Fiction" http://www.barnesandnoble.com/blog/5-intriguing-takes-on-gender-in-science-fiction/

"Post-Binary Gender in SF: Introduction" http://www.tor.com/2014/01/21/post-binary-gender-in-sf-introduction/

"Science fiction needs to reflect that the future is queer" http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/apr/11/science-fiction-needs-to-reflect-queer-fluid-gender-identity

"The Future of Gender Is the Present for Trans* Characters in SciFi Novels" http://www.autostraddle.com/the-future-of-gender-is-the-present-for-trans-characters-in-scifi-novels-174737/

"Women Are Destroying Science Fiction! (That's OK; They Created It)" http://www.npr.org/2014/06/28/322544552/women-are-destroying-science-fiction-thats-ok-they-created-it

"The Women Men Don't See." James Tiptree Jr. http://web.archive.org/web/20021004123917/http:/www.scifi.com/scifiction/classics/classics_archive/tiptree2/tiptree21.html

Topics in this Podcast: gender discrimination, summer reading, pop culture, science fiction, history