Feminist Transphobia


Michael Goldman/The Image Bank/Getty Images

"Trans-exclusionary radical feminists," or TERFs, is considered a slur. Yet, some radical feminists who define womanhood through biology rather than gender identity exist. Cristen and Caroline explore how this transphobia has impacted feminism, women's colleges and public perceptions of what radical feminism means.

Episode Sources:

"Are you now or have you ever been a TERF?" http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/2015/02/are-you-now-or-have-you-ever-been-terf

"What is a woman?" http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2014/08/04/woman-2

"Op-ed: An Open Letter to The New Yorker" http://www.advocate.com/commentary/2014/08/05/op-ed-open-letter-new-yorker

"'Real' Women: A Critique of 'Feminist' Transphobia" http://www.thefeministwire.com/2015/03/real-women-a-critique-of-feminist-transphobia/

"Why Women's Colleges Still Matter in the Age of Trans Activism" http://www.newrepublic.com/article/121071/women-colleges-still-matter-age-transactivism

"Model Admissions Policy on Transgender Students at Women's Colleges" http://www.transstudent.org/admissionspolicy.pdf

"Transgender Students at Women's Colleges" http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/05/opinion/transgender-students-at-womens-colleges.html?_r=0

"Transphobia is a Goddamn Embarrassment to Us All" http://jezebel.com/5975828/transphobia-is-a-goddamn-embarrassment-to-us-all

"Woman Enough" http://www.advocate.com/print-issue/current-issue/2014/07/16/woman-enough

"TERF: What it means and where it came from" http://www.transadvocate.com/terf-what-it-means-and-where-it-came-from_n_13066.htm

"You might be a TERF if ..." http://theterfs.com/2013/10/09/you-might-be-a-terf-if/

"That time TERFs beat RadFems for protecting a trans woman from their assault" http://www.transadvocate.com/that-time-terfs-beat-radfems-for-protecting-a-trans-woman-from-assault_n_14382.htm

"Why Transgender People Are Being Murdered at a Historic Rate" http://time.com/3999348/transgender-murders-2015/

Academic Insights:

"Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity." Julia Serano. Seal press. 2009. https://books.google.com/books?id=fR5ji5h5g1MC&printsec=frontcover&dq=transphobia+radical+feminism&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0CEgQ6AEwCGoVChMIz7Xo1MzJxwIVhqOICh17vQnj#v=onepage&q&f=false

Topics in this Podcast: feminism, lgbt, discrimination, gender identity, trans