Psychic Women


Clarence Williams/Los Angeles Times via Getty Images

Why are most psychic readers women? Cristen and Caroline examine how crystal balls, fortunetelling, palm reading and other mystical pastimes became women's work and whether females are the psychic sex.

Episode Sources:

"Fortune-telling: Fact, Fiction and Fantasy" http://www.livescience.com/28593-fortune-telling.html

"The History of the Crystal Ball" https://broadly.vice.com/en_us/article/the-history-of-the-crystal-ball

"Jemima Wilkinson" https://www.nwhm.org/education-resources/biography/biographies/jemima-wilkinson/

"There's a Lot of Spirit at School for Psychics" http://www.wsj.com/articles/can-you-see-ghosts-this-school-for-psychics-may-be-for-you-1425256360

"Psychic Services in the US Industry Market Research Report Now Available from IBISWorld" http://www.prweb.com/releases/2014/09/prweb12157511.htm

"Seeing Freedom in Their Future, Psychics Reveal All: 'It's a Scam, Sir'" http://www.nytimes.com/2015/08/29/nyregion/the-secret-to-the-psychic-trade-its-in-the-parole-board-transcripts.html

"Professionals Turn to Psychics in Uncertain Economy" http://www.businessinsider.com/professionals-turn-to-psychics-in-uncertain-economy-2013-11

"Feeling the Gendered Labor of Fortunetelling" https://gendersociety.wordpress.com/2015/04/01/feeling-the-gendered-labor-of-fortunetelling/

"The Legend of Miss Cleo" http://www.buzzfeed.com/mjs538/the-legend-of-miss-cleo#.pd026ZGK3b

"Miss Cleo on Her Allegedly Fake Patois and Getting Ripped off by the Psychic Readers Network" http://www.vice.com/read/we-spoke-to-ms-cleo-about-her-fake-patois-and-getting-ripped-off-by-her-old-bosses

"Mediums of Exchange" http://thenewinquiry.com/essays/mediums-of-exchange/

"Psychic's Business Is Booming in Tough Economy" http://www.cnn.com/2009/LIVING/wayoflife/02/05/psychics.economy/index.html?_s=PM:LIVING

"Jeane Dixon, 79, Astrologer Claiming Psychic Power, Dies" http://www.nytimes.com/1997/01/27/us/jeane-dixon-79-astrologer-claiming-psychic-power-dies.html

Academic Insights:

"Seers, Witches and Psychics on Screen: An Analysis of Women Visionary Characters in Recent Television and Film." Karin Beeler. McFarland. 2008. https://books.google.com/books?id=7LSAHARqp0IC&dq=women+psychics&lr=&source=gbs_navlinks_s

Topics in this Podcast: gender, history, psychics, witchcraft