Is sex slavery a growing problem?

Since January is Human Trafficking Awareness Month, Cristen and Caroline discuss the scope of sex trafficking in the United States, its legal history and why anti-trafficking initiatives have attracted controversy in recent years.

Episode sources:

Articles: "How Human Trafficking Works" by Molly Edmonds. HowStuffWorks.http://www.howstuffworks.com/human-trafficking.htm

"Human Sex Trafficking" by Amanda Walker-Rodriguez and Rodney Hill. March 2011. FBI.http://www.fbi.gov/stats-services/publications/law-enforcement-bulletin/march_2011/human_sex_trafficking

"Human Trafficking -- The Facts" United Nations. http://www.unglobalcompact.org/docs/issues_doc/labour/Forced_labour/HUMAN_TRAFFICKING_-_THE_FACTS_-_final.pdf

"Human Trafficking." National Center for Victims of Crime. http://www.victimsofcrime.org/library/crime-information-and-statistics/human-trafficking

"Sex Trafficking in America: The Girls Next Door" by Amy Fine Collins. May 24, 2011. Vanity Fair.http://www.vanityfair.com/politics/features/2011/05/sex-trafficking-201105

"The Race Dimensions of Trafficking in Persons -- Especially Women and Children" by United Nations Department of Public Information. March 2001. http://www.un.org/WCAR/e-kit/trafficking_e.pdf

"When Women Traffic Other Women" by Sharon Buchbinder. Aug. 07, 2013. The Daily Beast. http://www.thedailybeast.com/witw/articles/2013/08/07/when-women-are-found-trafficking-other-women.html

"Of Human Bonds -- Between Sex Work and Trafficking" by Donna Hughes. Oct. 06, 2013. Fair Observer. http://www.fairobserver.com/article/combating-sex-trafficking-history

"Timeline of Human Trafficking" by Patricia Young. 2011. Rutgers University Campus Coalition Against Trafficking. http://www.eden.rutgers.edu/~yongpatr/425/final/timeline.htm

"The Mann Act." PBS. http://www.pbs.org/unforgivableblackness/knockout/mann.html

"Labor and sex traffickers practice modern slavery in Colorado" by Tom McGhee. Dec. 19, 2013. Denver Post. http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_24754478/labor-and-sex-traffickers-practice-modern-slavery-colorado

"Polk prostitution sting results in 80 arrests." Dec. 17, 2013. WFLA.http://www.wfla.com/story/24232963/polk-prostitution-sting-results-in-80-arrests

"Sex Trafficking In Alaska 'Notoriously Underreported,' Targets Native Girls, Task Force Hears" by Rachel D'oro. Nov. 05, 2012. Associated Press. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/11/06/sex-trafficking-alaska-task-force_n_2081884.html

"Largest sex-trafficking bust in U.S. history nets 70 N.J. arrests" by Star-Ledger Staff. July 29, 2013. NJ.com. http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2013/07/largest_sex-trafficking_crackdown_in_us_history_nets_70_nj_arrests.html

"Cindy McCain -- NFL no help on sex trafficking" by Lucy McCalmont. Nov. 20, 2013. Politico. http://www.politico.com/story/2013/11/women-rule-event-100119.html

"Super Bowl Is Single Largest Human Trafficking Incident In U.S.: Attorney General" by Eleanor Goldberg. Feb. 06, 2013. Huffington Post. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/03/super-bowl-sex-trafficking_n_2607871.html

"Arizona Moves To Combat Sex Trafficking Around 2015 Super Bowl" by Carmia Townes. Dec. 12, 2013. Think Progress. http://thinkprogress.org/sports/2013/12/12/3050121/combating-human-trafficking-arizona/

"What is sex trafficking?" Shared Hope. http://sharedhope.org/learn/what-is-sex-trafficking/

"Human Trafficking FAQs." Polaris Project. http://www.polarisproject.org/human-trafficking/human-trafficking-faqs

"Recognizing the Signs." Polaris Project. http://www.polarisproject.org/human-trafficking/recognizing-the-signs

"The Traffickers." Polaris Project. http://www.polarisproject.org/human-trafficking/overview/the-traffickers

"2013 State Ratings on Human Trafficking Laws." Polaris Project. http://www.polarisproject.org/what-we-do/policy-advocacy/national-policy/state-ratings-on-human-trafficking-laws

Academic Insights: "Blame Narratives: News Discourses of Sex Trafficking" by Barbara Friedman and Anne Johnston. 2013. Media Disparity: A Gender Battleground. http://books.google.com/books?hl=en&lr=&id=yW7qAQAAQBAJ&oi=fnd&pg=PA177&dq=human+sex+trafficking&ots=plnbo0THx9&sig=DxoaZm0rRBpMC6w_bbJD0tF_GCw#v=onepage&q=human%20sex%20trafficking&f=false

"Framing the Problem of Sex Trafficking: Whose Problem? What Remedy?" by Barbara Friedman, Anne Johnston and Autumn Shafer. Dec. 11, 2012. Feminist Media Studies. http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/14680777.2012.740492#.UtP1U7RvhQZ

"Unpacking the Trafficking Discourse" by Jhoti Sanghera. 2005. Trafficking and Prostitution Reconsidered: New Perspectives on Migration, Sex Work and Human Rights. http://femlaw.queensu.ca/Law692Law693/law693/lavioletteReadingTraffickingProstReconsidered.pdf