The Baby Weight-Loss Race


Celebrities' post-childbirth weight loss has become a standard feature of tabloids. Cristen and Caroline examine our collective fixation on these new moms' bodies and how it skews non-celebrity perceptions on how women should expect to look after they're done expecting.

Episode Sources:

"Star Bodies After Baby" http://www.instyle.com/celebrity/celebrity-moms/star-bodies-after-baby

"OK! Helps Kourtney Shed Baby Weight with Photoshop, Phony Diet" http://jezebel.com/5456336/ok-helps-kourtney-shed-baby-weight-with-photoshop-phony-diet

"Kim Kardashian Unhappy with Post-Baby Body! Here Are 7 More Celeb Moms Who've Struggled with Pregnancy Weight Gain" http://www.eonline.com/news/566743/kim-kardashian-unhappy-with-post-baby-body-here-are-7-more-celeb-moms-who-ve-struggled-with-pregnancy-weight-gain

"Kim Kardashian: How I Lost Over 50 Pounds After Giving Birth" http://hollywoodlife.com/2013/12/11/kim-kardashian-baby-weight-loss-diet-exercise/

"The Post-Pregnancy Weight-Loss Obsession" http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2010/01/23/the-post-pregnancy-weight-loss-obsession.html

"What to Expect After Expecting" http://health.usnews.com/health-news/health-wellness/articles/2013/08/08/the-truth-about-losing-weight-after-childbirth

"Fat-shaming new moms is even more toxic than you think" http://fusion.net/story/116088/fat-shaming-new-moms-is-even-more-toxic-than-you-think/

"Can We Please Stop Critiquing Pregnant Women's Bodies?" http://www.huffingtonpost.com/bethany-neumeyer/can-we-please-stop-critiquing-pregnant-womens-bodies_b_6986612.html

"Losing weight after pregnancy" http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/patientinstructions/000586.htm

"The Truth About Your Body After Baby" http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/weight-loss/baby/your-body-after-baby/

"7 Smart Ways to Lose Weight While Breastfeeding" http://www.thebump.com/a/lose-weight-breastfeeding

"7 Honest Things Celebs Have Said About Losing Baby Weight" http://www.womenshealthmag.com/weight-loss/celebrity-baby-weight-loss

"Olivia Wilde Gets Real About Her Body: 'The Truth Is, I'm a Mother, and I Look Like One'" http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/03/31/olivia-wilde-post-baby-body-shape_n_6978806.html

Academic Insights:

"Continuity and change in women's weight orientations and lifestyle practices through pregnancy and the postpartum period: the influence of life course trajectories and transitional events." Carol M. Devine et al. Social Science and Medicine. February 2000. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0277953699003147

"Concerns about body shape and weight in the postpartum period and their relation to women's self-identification." Priti Patel et al. Journal of Reproductive and Infant Psychology. 2005. http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/02646830500273657#.VSvdRPnF-PU

"Weighty Issues: Fatness and Thinness as Social Problems." Eds. Jeffery Sobal and Donna Maurer. 1999. https://books.google.com/books?id=IHn-D7Q8KwMC&pg=PA117&lpg=PA117&dq=panopticon+weight&source=bl&ots=8-tgQ00Hky&sig=bmawO0qR_l8FRZ6LrjPkvYmNS0w&hl=en&sa=X&ei=Nt4rVeSREsOmgwTbv4GYBg&ved=0CDgQ6AEwBA#v=onepage&q=panopticon%20weight&f=false

"Body/Embodiment: Symbolic Interaction and the Sociology of the Body." Eds. Phillip Vannini and Dennis Waskul. Dec. 28, 2012. https://books.google.com/books?hl=en&lr=&id=sbZAtaQxDfEC&oi=fnd&pg=PA231&dq=obsession+weight+loss+after+pregnancy&ots=UXixB-ALMU&sig=jshUqJX1jS7rYRlOIYMoCXCPL4o#v=onepage&q=pregnancy&f=false

Topics in this Podcast: pregnancy, pop culture, body image, health, breastfeeding, Celebrities, moms, weight