The Women Behind Disney


Did you know an army of Disney "animation girls" helped bring its classic films to life? Cristen and Caroline highlight women working in the early days of Disney and women in animation's continuing quest to shatter the celluloid ceiling.

Episode sources:

"10 Noteworth Women Animators" by Sonya Shannon. Oct. 21, 2010. Artware Studios. http://www.artwarestudios.com/image-culture/10-noteworthy-women-animators/

"Coloring the Kingdom" by Patricia Zohn. March 2010. Vanity Fair. http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/2010/03/disney-animation-girls-201003

"Disney Artists' Holiday Wishes: Highlighting Retta Scott." Dec. 13, 2011. The Walt Disney Family Museum. http://www.waltdisney.org/storyboard/disney-artists-holiday-wishes-highlighting-retta-scott

"Five Women Animators Who Shook Up the Industry" by Daniel Egan. June 13, 2012. Smithsonian. http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/five-women-animators-who-shook-up-the-industry-120442836/?no-ist

"'Frozen' Head of Animation Says Animating Women is 'Really, Really Difficult'" by Amid Amidi. Oct. 08, 2013. Cartoon Brew. http://www.cartoonbrew.com/disney/frozen-head-of-animation-says-animating-women-is-really-really-difficult-89467.html

"How DreamWorks Animation Became One of Hollywood's Most Female-Driven Studios" by Pamela McClintock. Dec. 05, 2012. The Hollywood Reporter. http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/how-dreamworks-animation-became-one-398089

"Independent Spirits: Women in Animation." 2002. PBS. http://www.pbs.org/itvs/independentspirits/women.html

"Interview: Margaret Dean, Animation Producer and Co-President of Women in Animation" by Shari Raymond. Dec. 02, 2013. The Media Chronicles. http://themediachronicles.com/2013/12/02/marge-dean-animation-producer-co-president-women-animation/2/

"Jennifer Yuh Nelson Is the World's Top Grossing Female Director, All-Around Groundbreak" by Jamie Frevele. Sept. 07, 2011. The Mary Sue. http://www.themarysue.com/jennifer-yuh-nelson-top-grossing-female-director/

"John Sparey's 'Types I have know': Bea and Liz" by Steve Hulett. Oct. 07, 2006. Animation Guild. http://animationguildblog.blogspot.com/2006/10/john-spareys-types-i-have-known-bea.html

"The Mystery of the Female Disney Animator" by Wade Sampson. Nov. 01, 2006. MousePlanet.

"This Movie Just Became the First Film Directed by a Woman to Make $1 Billion" by Emily Barasch. March 07, 2014. PolicyMic. http://www.policymic.com/articles/84597/this-movie-just-became-the-first-film-directed-by-a-woman-to-make-1-billion

"Walt Disney Family Museum Announces 'Women in Animation' Panel and Brittany Lee Workshop" by C. Edward. Jan. 05, 2014. http://www.cartoonbrew.com/events/disney-family-museum-announces-women-in-animation-panel-and-brittney-lee-workshop-93998.html

"Was Meryl Streep Correct in Calling Walt Disney a 'Bigot'?" by Tim Appelo. Jan. 09, 2014. The Hollywood Reporter. http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/was-meryl-streep-correct-calling-669589

"When the glass ceiling crashed on Brenda Chapman" by Nicole Sperling. May 25, 2011. Los Angeles Times. http://articles.latimes.com/2011/may/25/entertainment/la-et-women-animation-sidebar-20110525

"Women in Animation" by Jenny Lerew. March 14, 2014. The Blackwing Diaries. http://blackwingdiaries.blogspot.com/2014/03/women-in-animation.html

"Women in Animation" by Steve Hulett. Nov. 30, 2013. Animation Guild. http://animationguildblog.blogspot.com/2013/11/women-in-animation.html

"Worth as Much as a Man: Cracking the Celluloid Ceiling" by Paula Sigman Lowery. The Walt Disney Family Museum. http://www.waltdisney.org/storyboard/worth-much-man-cracking-celluloid-ceiling

Academic insights:

"The 'Dark Prince' and Dream Women: Walt Disney and Mid-Twentieth Century American Feminism" by Amy M. Davis. Jan. 22, 2007. Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television. http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/01439680500137987#.U2lrBCgbSSo

Topics in this Podcast: cartoons, women in film, women behind disney, best of 2014 workplace, Disney, Animation