Trophy Wives


Do beautiful women marry for money? Cristen and Caroline unpack the gender- and race-loaded stereotype of the Trophy Wife and investigate whether she really exists.

Episode sources:

"Amal Alamuddin Clooney and the Rise of the Trophy Husband." http://time.com/3664264/amal-alamuddin-george-clooney-trophy-husband/

"Decades of Scorn for 'Trophy' Wives." http://www.wsj.com/articles/SB10001424052702303409004579562350738782772

"Desperately Seeking Sugar Daddies." http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/2010/05/seeking-arrangement-201005

"Gold digger stereotype ready for burial." http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2014-07-02/features/ct-gold-digger-balancing-20140702_1_goal-digger-stereotype-smart-dating-academy

"In Richness and in Wealth." http://bitchmagazine.org/article/in-richness-and-in-wealth

"Is There Anything Wrong with Being a Trophy Wife?" http://madamenoire.com/268966/is-there-anything-wrong-with-being-a-trophy-wife/

"Is There Really Such a Thing as a 'Trophy Wife'?" http://www.npr.org/2014/10/23/358238948/is-there-really-such-a-thing-as-a-trophy-wife

"Meet the new trophy husbands." http://fortune.com/2015/02/26/trophy-husband/

"On Language: Trophy Wife." http://www.nytimes.com/1994/05/01/magazine/on-language-trophy-wife.html

"Russia's Gold Digger Academy." http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/11/11/russia-s-gold-digger-academy.html

"The Images Of Black Women In Media Still 'Only Scratch The Surface,' Essence Study Finds." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/15/the-images-of-black-women-in-media_n_4102322.html

"The Myth of Wealthy Men and Beautiful Women." http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/07/the-myth-of-buying-beauty/374414/

"The New Trophy Wife." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kristen-houghton/the-new-trophy-wife_b_6207364.html

"The New Trophy Wife: Asian Women." http://www.marieclaire.com/sex-love/advice/a3386/asian-trophy-wife/

"Terrible Name, Good Show." http://www.slate.com/articles/arts/television/2013/09/malin_akerman_and_bradley_whitford_in_trophy_wife_reviewed.html

"Trophy Husbands." http://archive.fortune.com/magazines/fortune/fortune_archive/2002/10/14/330033/index.htm

Academic insights:

"Amounts Spent on Engagement Rings Reflect Aspects of Male and Female Mate Quality." Cronk, Lee and Dunham, Bria. Human Nature. December 2007. http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs12110-007-9018-9

"The Golden Years: Men From The Forbes 400 Have Much Younger Wives When Remarrying Than the General US Population." Pollet, Thomas V. et al. Letters on Evolutionary Behavioral Science, Vol 4, No 1. 2013. http://hbesj.org/index.php/lebs/article/view/lebs.2013.25

Topics in this Podcast: relationships, marriage, stereotypes, pop culture