Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Anxious Women


Why are women twice as likely to experience chronic anxiety? Cristen and Caroline share their own experiences with long-term anxiety, whether female anxiety is more nature or nurture and how to manage its persistent symptoms.

Episode sources:

"A Brief History of Anxiety." http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/04/16/in-the-arcadian-woods/?_r=1

"Anxiety: The New Young Women's Health Crisis." http://www.glamour.com/health-fitness/2010/08/anxiety-the-new-young-womens-health-crisis

"Hangovers Really Do Get Worse As We Get Older, and Here's Why." http://www.nbcnews.com/health/body-odd/hangovers-really-do-get-worse-we-get-older-heres-why-n1981

"How Marijuana Relieves (or Exacerbates) Anxiety." http://www.medicaldaily.com/how-marijuana-relieves-or-exacerbates-anxiety-270717

"In the Age of Anxiety, are we all mentally ill?" http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/07/13/us-usa-health-anxiety-idUSBRE86C07820120713#7TYFkOQmZVSqMLbz.97

"It's Not Just Sexism, Women Do Suffer More From Mental Illness." http://ideas.time.com/2013/07/18/its-not-just-sexism-women-do-suffer-more-from-mental-illness/#ixzz2ZolPjjPJ

"Nervous Nellies." http://www.slate.com/articles/life/family/2011/04/nervous_nellies.single.html

"Neurotic Who Makes Scary World Her Banquet." http://www.nytimes.com/2008/03/19/books/19grim.html

"Tips to Manage Anxiety and Stress." http://www.adaa.org/tips-manage-anxiety-and-stress

"What are Anxiety Disorders?" http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/anxiety-disorders/index.shtml?rf=32471

"What Is Generalized Anxiety Disorder?" http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/generalized-anxiety-disorder-gad/index.shtml

"Why Are We (Women) All So Damn Anxious?" http://www.elle.com/beauty/health-fitness/news/a20056/anxiety-and-women/

"Why Do So Many Women Have Anxiety Disorders? A Hormone Hypothesis." http://commonhealth.wbur.org/2015/04/women-anxiety-hormones

Topics in this Podcast: Brain, sex differences, Mental Health, Anxiety


More to Explore