Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Curly Hair Conundrums


Curly-haired women often feel like they're living in a flat-ironed, staight-haired world. Cristen and Caroline untangle the science of curly hair and get to the root of the cultural stereotypes regarding ringlets.

Episode sources:

"26 Things People With Curly Hair Are Tired of Hearing" by Rega Jha. Buzzfeed. Nov. 25, 2013. http://www.buzzfeed.com/regajha/things-people-with-curly-hair-are-tired-of-hearing

"A Hair Mystery: Curly Hair Gone Straight" by Jessica Goldstein. NPR. March 19, 2009. http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=102074149

"Can a Professional Woman Go Curly?" by Megan Mcardle. The Atlantic. Aug. 19, 2011. http://www.theatlantic.com/personal/archive/2011/08/friday-girl-talk-can-a-professional-woman-go-curly/243870/

"Can Having Curly Hair Hurt Your Career?" by Meredith Lepore. The Grindstone. July 30, 2012. http://www.thegrindstone.com/2012/07/30/career-management/can-having-curly-hair-hurt-your-career-675/

"Curly Girl: More Than Just Hair...It's an Attitude" by Lorraine Massey. Workman Publishing. 2001. http://books.google.com/books?id=p63Xw1ns3BMC&printsec=frontcover&dq=curly+hair&hl=en&sa=X&ei=5cHTU9uONcGeyAT64ICQBA&ved=0CDQQuwUwAA#v=onepage&q=curly%20hair&f=false

"'Curly hair gene' discovered by scientists." The Telegraph. Dec. 07, 2009. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/science-news/6751910/Curly-hair-gene-discovered-by-scientists.html

"Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History" by Victoria Sherrow. Greenwood Publishing Group. 2006. http://books.google.com/books?id=9Z6vCGbf66YC&dq=hair+untangling+a+cultural+history&source=gbs_navlinks_s

"For Appearance' Sake: The Historical Encyclopedia of Good Looks, Beauty, and Grooming" by Victoria Sherrow. Greenwood Publishing Group. 2001. http://books.google.com/books?id=mNLZkzxmiEIC&dq=women%27s+hair+curls+history&source=gbs_navlinks_s

"Hollywood Misperception: Curly Hair = Messy Life" by Naturally Curly. Naturally Curly. Sept. 03, 2008. http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/celebrities/hollywood-misperception-curly-hair-messy-life/

"In Defense of Curly Hair" by Judith Newman. The New York Times. Aug. 07, 2011. http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/07/fashion/in-defense-of-curly-hair-the-mirror.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

"Is Your Hair Holding You Back?" by Emily Hebert. Elle. April 29, 2010. http://www.elle.com/beauty/hair/is-your-hair-holding-you-back-2

"Natural Hair and Professionalism, An Oxymoron?" by Marcia Wade Talbert. Curly Nikki. March 01, 2011. http://www.curlynikki.com/2011/03/natural-hair-and-professionalism.html

"Rapunzel's Daughters: What Women's Hair Tells Us About Women's Lives" by Rose Weitz. Macmillan. 2005. http://books.google.com/books?id=zSzrhQ4PTfwC&dq=Rose+Weitz+curly+hair&source=gbs_navlinks_s

"Straight Hair Is Knottier Than Curly Hair" by Christie Nicholson. Scientific American. March 13, 2008. http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/straight-hair-is-knottier-than-curly-hair/

"The lost art of curl maintenance" by Rachel Mendleson. Macleans. March 22, 2010. http://www.macleans.ca/culture/the-lost-art-of-curl-maintenance/

"The Mane Conflict: Hair Curly or Straight?" Taryn Brill. ABC News. Aug. 12, 2008. http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/story?id=5565719

"The Physic of Curly Hair" by Jeffrey Kluger. TIME. Feb. 13, 2014. http://time.com/7593/curly-hair-physics-explained/

"Why Humidity Makes Your Hair Curl" by Joseph Stromberg. Smithsonian. April 12, 2013. http://www2.smithsonianmag.si.edu/science-nature/why-humidity-makes-your-hair-curl-21127724/

Academic insights:

"The Hair Dilemma: Conform to Mainstream Expectations or Emphasize Racial Identity" by Ashleigh Shelby Rosette and Tracy L. Dumas. Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy. 2007. http://scholarship.law.duke.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1119&context=djglp

"Worldwide diversity of hair curliness: a new method of assessment" by G. Loussouarn et al. International Journal of Dermatology. October 2007. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17919196

Topics in this Podcast: Hair, Beauty, natural hair, best of 2014 body image