The Gendered Chef


Caiaimage/Trevor Adeline/Caiaimage/Getty Images
Caiaimage/Trevor Adeline/Caiaimage/Getty Images

Women leading professional kitchens is a relatively new dish. Cristen and Caroline cook up the history of how chef became a man's job and how women today are taking the culinary industry by storm.

Episode Sources:

"A Change in the Kitchen" http://www.nytimes.com/2014/01/22/dining/a-change-in-the-kitchen.html

"Does dessert have a gender?" http://njmonthly.com/articles/eat-drink/does-dessert-have-a-gender/

"Women Who Cook: Dismantling the Myth of the Bitch in the Kitchen" http://the-toast.net/2015/08/20/women-who-cook/

"Food Timeline" http://www.foodtimeline.org/restaurants.html

"From Patrons to Chefs, a History of Women in Restaurants" http://www.bu.edu/bhr/2015/08/21/from-patrons-to-chefs-a-history-of-women-in-restaurants/

"Anna Tackmeyer - Chef" https://books.google.com/books?id=JjsxAQAAMAAJ&pg=PA146&lpg=PA146&dq=Anna+Tackmeyer+chef+%22woman%27s+home+companion%22&source=bl&ots=mOFu2Q3q-o&sig=j4wRgrpVQmX1sx3KSWx5Hsdocos&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0CB0Q6AEwAGoVChMIlNP6tOrHyAIVQdCACh25yQTu#v=onepage&q=Anna%20Tackmeyer%20chef%20%22woman's%20home%20companion%22&f=false

"Women Everywhere in Food Empires But No Head Chefs" http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2014-03-06/women-everywhere-in-chang-colicchio-empires-but-no-head-chefs

"Tipped Over the Edge: Gender Inequity in the Research Industry" http://rocunited.org/tipped-over-the-edge-gender-inequity-in-the-restaurant-industry/

"A Sociological Study of Why So Few Women Chefs in Restaurant Kitchens" http://thefeministkitchen.com/2011/07/18/guest-post-a-sociological-study-of-why-so-few-women-chefs-in-restaurant-kitchens/

"Gender Politics in the Professional Kitchen" http://college.usatoday.com/2013/01/23/gender-politics-in-the-professional-kitchen/

"How Does Food Media Solve Its Gender Bias Problem?" http://www.eater.com/2013/11/12/6332653/how-does-food-media-solve-its-gender-bias-problem

"Why are there no great women chefs?" http://www.gastronomica.org/why-are-there-no-great-women-chefs/

"Kings of Pastry" http://www.pbs.org/pov/kingsofpastry/interview.php

"Our Bizarre Culture of Chef Supremacy Is Some Bullshit" http://kitchenette.jezebel.com/our-bizarre-culture-of-chef-supremacy-is-some-bullshit-1688199668

"Girl on Girl Action: Our Editors Go Deep Into the 'Female Chef' Debate" http://www.thebraiser.com/girl-on-girl-action-our-editors-go-deep-into-the-female-chef-debate/

Academic Insights:

"A History of Cooks and Cooking." Michael Symons. University of Illinois Press. October 2003. https://books.google.com/books?id=DmEDa9wG6yUC&printsec=frontcover&source=gbs_ge_summary_r&cad=0#v=onepage&q=chef&f=false

"Women in the Labor Force: A Databook." U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. December 2014. http://www.bls.gov/opub/reports/cps/women-in-the-labor-force-a-databook-2014.pdf

Topics in this Podcast: history, Food, chefs, women in the workplace