Black Romantic Comedies


Romantic comedies remain one of Hollywood's most segregated film genres. In part four of their rom com podcast series, Cristen and Caroline compare the development, tropes and racial tensions within monochromatic rom com worlds.

Episode sources:

"Dear Black Romcoms, Where'd You Go?" Huffington Post. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/chevonne-harris/black-romantic-comedies_b_2397155.html

"'Dinner' and a Show: Race, Romance in Pop Culture." NPR. http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=10935286

"'Meet the Patels': One Man's Quest to Find Love, the Old-School Indian Way." NPR. http://www.npr.org/sections/codeswitch/2015/09/11/439467662/meet-the-patels-one-mans-quest-to-find-love-the-old-school-indian-way

"NY Mag Couldn't Find a Black Romantic Comedy for Its Top 25 List." The Root. http://www.theroot.com/articles/culture/2014/07/ny_magazine_couldn_t_find_a_black_romantic_comedy_for_its_top_25_list/

"Our Family Wedding - Film Review." Hollywood Reporter. http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/our-family-wedding-film-review-29368

"Race and the romcom: is Think Like a Man realistic or racist?" The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/film/filmblog/2012/jun/25/race-romcom-think-like-a-man

"Six Annoying Women Character Tropes in Black Romantic Comedies." Bitch. https://bitchmedia.org/post/six-annoying-women-character-tropes-in-black-romantic-comedies

"Wedding Palace - Film Review." Hollywood Reporter. http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/wedding-palace-film-review-638260

"We're Not So Different: Tradition, Culture and Falling in Love in 'Bride & Prejudice'." Bitch Flicks. http://www.btchflcks.com/2016/02/bride-and-prejudice-tradition-culture-and-falling-in-love.html#.V2bQC7srK01

"Why are rom-coms still segregated?" Salon. http://www.salon.com/2012/04/19/think_like_a_man_why_are_rom_coms_still_segregated/

"Why We Need More Black Romance Movies." IndieWire. http://www.indiewire.com/2016/02/why-we-need-more-black-romance-movies-65777/

Academic sources:

Gender, Genre and the Effects of Neoliberalism: The New Millennium Hollywood Rom Com. Betty Kaklamanidou. Routledge. 2013. https://books.google.com/books?id=5l4eSWb21scC&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

"Romantic Comedies and the Raced Body." Karen Bowdre. Falling in Love Again: Romantic Comedy in Contemporary Cinema. 2009. http://italianstudies.nd.edu/assets/69366/bowdre_romantic_raced.pdf

Romantic Comedy. Claire Mortimer. Routledge. April 2010. https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=AR_GBQAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

Topics in this Podcast: pop culture, rom coms