Gilmore Girls and Guys


With help from Gilmore Guys podcast hosts Kevin T. Porter and Demi Adejuyigbe, Cristen and Caroline take a stroll through Stars Hollow, discussing the highs and lows -- and feminist leanings -- that continue to make 'Gilmore Girls' a cultural touchstone.

Meet the Gilmore Guys:

Listen to the podcast with Kevin T. Porter and Demi Adejuyigbe

Follow Gilmore Guys on Twitter

Episode sources:

"6 Things the Internet Loves 'Gilmore Girls'." http://www.dailydot.com/opinion/why-the-internet-loves-gilmore-girls/

"22 Things You Might Not Know About 'Gilmore Girls'." http://mentalfloss.com/article/60420/22-things-you-might-not-know-about-gilmore-girls

"A Fan's Notes On 'Gilmore Girls'." http://www.theawl.com/2013/03/a-fans-notes-on-gilmore-girls

"All 339 Books Referenced In 'Gilmore Girls'." http://www.buzzfeed.com/krystieyandoli/all-339-books-referenced-in-gilmore-girls#.enkBEbVGQ7

"Amy Sherman-Palladino." http://www.avclub.com/article/amy-sherman-palladino-13914

"'Gilmore Girls' Michel Wasn't Necessarily Gay, But Sookie Was Supposed to Be." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/06/06/gilmore-girls-michel-gay_n_7521330.html

"How 'Gilmore Girls' Sparked My Feminist Awakening." http://www.buzzfeed.com/samimain/how-gilmore-girls-sparked-my-feminist-awakening#.gvJ1dm05xB

"In Defense of Gilmore Girls' Seventh Season." http://www.vulture.com/2015/11/gilmore-girls-season-seven-defense.html

"Why 'Gilmore Girls' Lane Kim Is Important." http://www.buzzfeed.com/susancheng/gilmore-girls-lane-kim#.sto8nr5QmN

"Why the 'Gilmore Girls' Fandom Lives On." http://www.nytimes.com/2015/07/13/magazine/why-the-gilmore-girls-fandom-lives-on.html?_r=0

Academic sources:

Gilmore Girls and the Politics of Identity: Essays on Family and Feminism in the Television Series. Calvin, Ritch. McFarland. 2008. https://books.google.com/books?id=woG5xaQmRfoC&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

Screwball Television: Critical Perspectives on Gilmore Girls. Diffrient, David Scott and Lavery, David. Syracuse University Press. 2014. https://books.google.com/books?id=l41iM1ruVNsC&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

Topics in this Podcast: television, pop culture, single moms, women in hollywood