Oprah Wasn't Built In a Day


Oprah with her LEGO Ocsar statuette. Screenshot courtesy Funny or Die
Oprah with her LEGO Ocsar statuette. Screenshot courtesy Funny or Die

Episode sources:

"Can Failure Be an End In Itself?" Science Friday. http://www.sciencefriday.com/articles/is-it-possible-to-have-meaningful-failure/

"Failure Is Science Is Frequent and Inevitable -- And We Should Talk About It More." Scientific American.https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/guest-blog/failure-in-science-is-frequent-and-inevitable-and-we-should-talk-more-about-it/

"Hard Won and Easily Lost: The Fragile Status of Leaders in Gender-Stereotype-Incongruent Occupations." Harvard Gender & Public Policy Forum. http://gap.hks.harvard.edu/hard-won-and-easily-lost-fragile-status-leaders-gender-stereotype-incongruent-occupations

"How to Help Kids Overcome Their Fear of Failure." University of California at Berkeley. http://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/how_to_help_kids_overcome_fear_of_failure

"How Women End Up On the Glass Cliff." Harvard Business Review. https://hbr.org/2011/01/how-women-end-up-on-the-glass-cliff

"Kim Novak's Bid to Be Twice As Good." The Atlantic. http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2014/03/kim-novaks-bid-to-be-twice-as-good/284194/

"Oprah -- Built in Baltimore." The Baltimore Sun. http://www.baltimoresun.com/entertainment/sun-magazine/bs-sm-oprahs-baltimore-20110522-story.html

"The Art of Failing Upward." The New York Times. http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/06/opinion/sunday/the-art-of-failing-upward.html

"We Have Developed a Culture of Celebrating Failure, and It's Completely Phony." Quartz. http://qz.com/673658/we-have-developed-a-culture-of-celebrating-failure-and-its-completely-phony/

"Why Do We Teach Girls That It's Cute to Be Scared?" The New York Times. http://www.nytimes.com/2016/02/21/opinion/sunday/why-do-we-teach-girls-that-its-cute-to-be-scared.html

"Why Failure Hits Girls So Hard." TIME. http://time.com/4008357/girls-failure-practice/

"Why Success Always Starts With Failure." 99u. http://99u.com/articles/7072/why-success-always-starts-with-failure

"Why Women Are Afraid of Failure." Elle. http://www.elle.com/life-love/a36828/why-women-are-afraid-of-failure/

"Why Women Rightly Fear Failure." The Nation. https://www.thenation.com/article/why-women-rightly-fear-failure/