Why Yogurt Loves Women


Do women really love yogurt as much as yogurt commercials suggest? Getty Images/Alexandra Grablewski

Episode sources:

"19 Defining Moments in the History of Yogurt." Grub Street. http://www.grubstreet.com/2014/10/great-moments-in-the-history-of-yogurt.html

"Breastmilk Yoghurt for Babies." Food. http://www.food.com/recipe/breastmilk-yoghurt-for-babies-52832

"Cecilia Westbrook Makes Yogurt With Her Own Vaginal Bacteria." The Huffington Post. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/02/11/vagina-yogurt_n_6661792.html

"Culture Heroes: Rating the Top-Selling Yogurts." New York. https://books.google.com/books?id=QOQCAAAAMBAJ&printsec=frontcover&vq=yogurt#v=onepage&q=yogurt&f=false

"Gut Instinct: What health benefits, exactly, is Activia yogurt supposed to offer?" Slate. http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/hey_wait_a_minute/2008/07/gut_instinct.html

"Infections and Insurrection: Women Treating Yeast." Feminist Women's Health Center. http://www.fwhc.org/health/yeast.htm

"Ladies: Good Bacteria In Yogurt May Be Good for Waistlines, Too." NPR. http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2014/02/05/271153568/ladies-good-bacteria-in-yogurt-may-be-good-for-waistlines-too

"The New Yogurts: Are They Really Yogurt?" The New York Times. http://www.nytimes.com/1982/09/15/garden/the-new-yogurts-are-they-really-yogurt.html

"Toned Tummies & Bloated Bellies: Activia Yogurt & Gendered Digestion." Emily Contois. https://emilycontois.com/2013/05/06/toned-tummies-bloated-bellies-activia-yogurt-gendered-digestion/

"What Happened to the Colombo Yogurt I Remember Since Childhood?" Culinary Lore. http://www.culinarylore.com/food-history:what-happened-to-colombo-yogurt

"Why 'Brogurt,' Yogurt for Dudes, Has Gone Gender-Neutral." NBC News. http://www.nbcnews.com/business/consumer/why-brogurt-yogurt-dudes-has-gone-gender-neutral-n568786

"Women and yogurt: What's the connection?" The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/science/brain-flapping/2013/aug/30/women-yogurt-connection-advertising